Domenico Pellegrini

Domenico Pellegrini was an Italian musician born in the early 17th century who played and composed for the 5 course baroque guitar. His published collection, Armoniosi Concerti sopra la chitarra spagnuola (1650) contains 38 pieces in the typical baroque format of toccatas, correntes, allemandes, sarabandes, a chaconne and a passacaglia. Some of his music has been published for the modern guitar in Grimes (1991-3) and there are particularly good versions (making better use of the modern guitar’s sixth string) Bellow (1964).

I have arranged four of Pellegrini’s pieces; I started with the Corrente, which I found in the Mel Bay volume and rearranged it using Bellow’s approach; then I added the Allemanda (which uses the same thematic material) and the Sarabanda. Lastly I took the Balleto which both Grimes and Bellow had arranged and transposed it from D to E, making one or two minor revisions, to produce a version that I feel works better for the modern guitar. 

Allemanda  [PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Pellegrini Grade 05

Corrente [PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Pellegrini Grade 06

Sarabanda [PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Pellegrini Grade 04

Balletto [PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Pellegrini Grade 07

 ©2003-2020 Eric Crouch: you can use anything you find here, but please mention this site if you do.      [Contact Me]