Domenico Pellegrini (early C17 - after 1682)

Musician born in Bologna in the early 17th century who played and composed for the 5-course baroque guitar. His published collection, Armoniosi Concerti sopra la chitarra spagnuola (1650) contains 38 pieces in the typical baroque format of toccatas, correntes, allemandes, sarabandes, a chaconne and a passacaglia. Some of his music has been published for the modern guitar in Grimes (1991-3) and there are particularly good versions (making better use of the modern guitar’s sixth string) Bellow (1964).

I have arranged four of Pellegrini’s pieces; I started with the Corrente, which I found in the Mel Bay volume and rearranged it using Bellow’s approach; then I added the Allemanda (which uses the same thematic material) and the Sarabanda. Lastly I took the Balleto which both Grimes and Bellow had arranged and transposed it from D to E, making one or two minor revisions, to produce a version that I feel works better for the modern guitar.

[PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Grade 05

[PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Grade 06

[PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Grade 04

[PDF] [MIDI] [XML] Grade 07

© 2003 - 2022 Eric Crouch: Make use of use anything you find here, but please mention this site if you do. Contact Me

Made in RapidWeaver